Where truth meets living: Three examples

Truth.  A lot of people don’t want to hear that word, unless it’s “truth” they’ve arrived at on their own.  In our culture, the idea that someone else has established truth and that we should respond to that truth is very much taboo.

But that’s exactly how the Christian faith works.  God has always established Himself as the truth, the true way, or whatever configuration of words you’d like to use.  And, He has always called people to live under His truth.

For today, I’d like to encourage you with three examples of truth colliding with every day life.

1.  Working through differences is tumultuous at first, but more peaceful in the end.

Trying to resolve an issue or a conflict can be difficult.  Sometimes, you’re not motivated to resolve it.  Sometimes, you know it’s going to hurt or you don’t think it can be resolved.  It seems incredibly attractive to just let it go.

But, in Scripture, God consistently calls us to work together to overcome differences, unite and minister in peace, often by forgiving past differences.  These are the relationships characterized in Scripture.  They bring some measure of angst as we work through troubles, but they bring the joy and peace of deeper trust, love, and understanding as we work the differences out.

Truth applied to living in this sense means our lives can have more peace following conflict.

2.  Living for others brings you more joy.

The things that excite me most usually don’t have much to do with me.  Certainly I’ll get amped about an upcoming trip or some rest or a certain event I’m looking forward to.  However, what really excites me are opportunities to serve, growth in others, and leadership bringing about the greater good of all.

When you begin to look forward to what God will do in others’ lives and that becomes your chief concern, then you start to find the joy of really experiencing the life change in Christ that can invigorate daily living.

Truth applied to living in this sense turns the spotlight off yourself, and onto others–a prime recipe for growth.

3.  Obedience is NOT weakness.

Some in our culture would argue that obedience is weak.  It means that you give up control of the almighty idol of what you want. Actually, repenting of my sins and my ways and submitting them to God’s ways brings about more assurance.  It also shows me very quickly that when I am in control or when I want to be in control I can mess things up pretty quickly.

It’s the reverse.  Obeying Jesus, repenting of my sins, gives me the confidence to remember I’m not perfect and to remember that God is in control.  It strengthens me through trial, and it’s more likely to keep me humble (and bearable to everyone else around me) in times of success.

Truth applied to living in this sense means that giving up control is not the worst thing I can do: it’s the best!

In closing

God’s truth shown through Jesus Christ is the best structure for our lives.  It meets in every day in every way.  Will you allow this truth to lead and guide in your life, or will you continue to try (and fail) to determine truth on your own?

Leave a Reply

