How did we get here?

The time of the year when worshiping Jesus should be the easiest is often the hardest.” – Rick McKinley

As you have traveled somewhere, have you ever thought to yourself, “how did I get here?”  I often think that when I travel long distances.  Whether it is driving to Columbus to visit family or flying across the country for a vacation, I am amazed that we can get to so many parts of the country so quickly. 

I have also asked myself “how did I get here?” when I have gotten lost.  Did I miss a turn?  Was I not paying attention?  How do I get back on track to where I want to go?

I often think, “how did we get here” when I think about the way we celebrate Christmas.  I do not believe we have fully understood the impact our culture has on the way that we celebrate Christmas.  I (with millions of other Christians) wrestle with the tension between my faith and my culture every Christmas season.  I think it’s about time we do something about it.

Here are a few questions that are challenging me, and I hope they challenge you too.

Is the way I celebrate Christ’s birth causing me to worship God more fully?

Is the way I celebrate Christ’s birth causing me to give more than I get?

Is the way I celebrate Christ’s birth bringing peace to me and those around me?

Is the way I celebrate Christ’s birth the way Christ would want me to celebrate?

How did we get here, and how do we get back to where we were going?

Blessings,

Josh

Leave a Reply

