On the eve of traveling to Haiti

Tomorrow (yikes – tomorrow!) our journey to Haiti begins. We don’t fly until Sunday, but we will gather tomorrow evening and head toward our airport hotel.  Twelve folks from our church and another 20 from churches in the U.S. will all converge to serve in Haiti through Adventures in Missions.

A few thoughts:

1.  I will always believe in taking advantage of these opportunities.  You can debate the merits of sending 12 people who have raised a total just shy of $20,000 or just sending the money.  I think the bottom line is that churches sending these groups must know that the personal growth of the people going IS a legitimate motive and outcome of a missions trip.  Doing ministry in a foreign land can accomplish the two fold purpose of accomplishing God’s purposes but also enlarging the perspective of the people participating.

2. I am afraid.  What?  Doesn’t the Bible say “fear not” a whole bunch of time?  Well sure it does.  I’m not afraid that something bad will happen or I won’t be able to endure any trial that comes.  I’m not afraid I or anyone else on the team has made the wrong decision.  I’m not afraid in that sense.  Be assured I won’t be curled up with my blankey in a fetal position.  I’ve traveled before and know I can adjust and adapt.  Why the fear then?  The unknown.  It’s a healthy fear, knowing God can turn that little bit of anxiety into trust.

3. If this life I lose.  Our unofficial theme song for our group is “I Will Follow” by Chris Tomlin.  One of the lines in the chorus is “if this life I lose . . . I will follow.” Intense, right?  Yes!  But it’s true.  It’s the ultimate statement that I am surrendered wholly to God’s purposes.  Matthew 10:28: Do not be afraid of the one who can kill the body and soul.  Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell.  This is the kind of strong surrender that is not only required for short term traveling, but for daily living as well.

Be challenged.  Grow.  Pray!

In Christ,

Pastor Kevin

Leave a Reply

