Kenmore High School’s Baccalaureate Service

The Kenmore Ministerial Association partners with Kenmore High School to put on their Baccalaureate Service each year for the graduating seniors.  I am told that Kenmore is possibly the only high school in Akron that still has a religious Baccalaureate Service.  Through this connection, several churches from Kenmore have the opportunity to pray, share our faith, challenge the students, and actually hand out Bibles to any students that would like one.

This is an incredible opportunity, and I was humbled to have been able to give the message this year.  As I prayed and thought through what to say, I landed on two simple challenges.  Here is what they were.

1) What do you believe?  I talked about how other people know us by the actions they observe.  But, our actions are determined by our thoughts, and our thoughts are determined by our beliefs.  A lot of people believe in a lot of things right now.  People believe that life could get better for them, but they don’t cast their belief on anything specific. Here is what I told the graduating Seniors:

I believe that God is real, loving, and powerful

I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God

I believe the Holy Spirit is alive and active in the world today

I believe the Holy Bible is the written word of God

I believe that God can take any situation in life and use it for good

I believe God has a plan for my life and for your life

Not only do I “believe”, but I have cast all my belief on God and trust that He will determine and cause my future to happen.  It will not happen by chance.  Do we place our belief in God when we face transitions in our lives?

2) Don’t let the difficulties in the road of life change who you are.  Each and every one of us are a child of God.  Often times when things get difficult, people give up hope, doubt who they are, and try to avoid any path that will bring further difficulties.  I challenged the students to consider that God may have them in difficult situations in order to prepare them for their future.  Just because we believe in God does not mean that everything gets easy.  We need his grace and discipline to make it through difficult times in life.

I hope you are challenged and encouraged.  Please pray that the connection between Kenmore High School and the KMA will continue to be strong, which will allow students to hear the truth of the Gospel, and receive the written word of God for years to come.

Blessings,

Josh

Leave a Reply

