Preaching Ministry

It’s good to be back at it this week.  It’s been a bit of a slow go after being off for eight days.  But, I’m gaining some momentum as we approach the weekend and, as always, looking forward to Sunday.

My thoughts today center around one of my core convictions I’d like to share:  the preaching ministry.

I really do believe that preaching is the most important thing I do for Goss Memorial Church.  A lot of things can get passed the pastor’s way to be sure, but without the time to adequately prepare messages to help us process God’s Word and apply it to our lives, we’d be a pretty shallow bunch.  So ask yourself:  what goes into it?  Glad you asked.  I’d be happy to share a bit.

I usually plan messages several months ahead, at least as far as topics and basic outlines.  I like to have a more detailed outline for the coming Sunday when I get into the office on Tuesday (Monday is my day off).  The text, illustrations, and power point are then developed between Tuesday and Sunday.  The best part of message planning for me is when I am able to get long chunks of time (4-6 hours) to put several messages together.  It helps to see how themes and the entire passage run together, and it avoids repetition.  Being able to do this allows for the levels of prayer and study I may not be able to string together in the office.

Please continue to pray that I will grow in the skill of preparing and delivering messages.  It’s one of my greatest joys and I pray that as a congregation we will continue to grow through our study of God’s Word.  I pray we’ll all continue to live more like Jesus and be driven to action based on our knowledge of God’s Word.

Have a great weekend.

In Christ,

Pastor Kevin

Leave a Reply

