Water is always water

As I was on my run this morning, I was thinking about God.  I was thinking about all the questions the students had about faith and believing while on Tunnel Vision trip last weekend.  I was thinking about how wild and sometimes confusing God seems to be.  I was thinking about how the character of God doesn’t always make sense.

How do you balance God’s love with his wrath?  How can we believe in a hell when God’s love is never-ending?  Is the God of the Old Testament (punishment, war, and wrath) the same as the God of the New Testament (loving, peaceful, and redemptive)?

Water.

On my run, I started to think of God as water.

Water can be the most peaceful substance.  The light rain after a drought.  The calmness of a lake.  The trickling of a waterfall.  The ice-cold glass of water after a hard day of work.  The calming sound of a small stream.

Water can also be the most dangerous substance imaginable.  A category 5 hurricane blistering the coast.  The unexpected and inescapable power of a tsunami.  The destructive nature of a flood.  The scorching hot dish water that burns the skin.

God reveals himself in 3 ways.  Father, Son, and Spirit.

Water reveals itself in 3 ways.  Solid, Liquid, Gas.

When we stand on the beach, we can look for miles and see nothing but water, and be amazed as to the height, width, and depth of the ocean.   Still, our eyes are only seeing a minuscule portion of the massiveness of the sea.

Nothing grows without water.  Water produces life.

Whether water is in a slow-moving river or a fast-moving tsunami, water is always water.

Whether God is healing the blind with water and mud, or destroying the earth with a flood, God is always God.

This helped me see God, and perhaps understand him, a little more.

I would not call myself a runner, but since I started training for a half marathon, I am finding my runs to be beneficial to my relationship with God.  I can think clearer, dream bigger, be in nature, and struggle through thoughts in ways that I cant by sitting on my couch.

When are the times that you feel most connected to God?  What is God revealing to you during those times?

Blessings,

Josh

P.S. –>  Coincidentally, my wife and I made a movie for Goss’s Passion day about the Blood:Water Mission, and organization that drills wells, provides water filters, and AIDS education to Africans.  You can view the movie HERE.

Leave a Reply

