Grace makes zero sense

I am personally going through a season of my life where I am being challenged by God’s grace.  I have realized that I believe in the theology of grace, but my actions and my heart do not often reflect my belief.  There is a strong temptation within me to still feel like I have to earn God’s love and favor, or even repay God for all that he has done.  I have been reminded recently that I was dead, completely dead, and a dead corpse can not revive itself.  How arrogant is it to think that I can earn my salvation?

Here are some quotes about grace from some authors and musicians that have challenged me:

“Grace is never cheap. It is absolutely free to us, but infinitely expensive to God” – Jerry Bridges

“It is not only by grace alone that we become God’s people, but by grace alone we remain His people.” – Dale Ralph Davis

“It seems that all my bridges have been burned, but you say that’s exactly how this grace thing works.  It’s not the long walk home that will change this heart, but the welcome I receive with the restart.” – Mumford and Sons

“There is nothing you can do that will make God love you more.  There is nothing you can do that will make God love you less.”

“Repentance, not proper behavior or even holiness, is the doorway to grace.” – Philip Yancy

My nature often fights against grace.  My arrogance thinks that I am able to earn God’s love and approval.  Praise God that my faulty thoughts do not define the truth of God’s grace!

I hope that I am always baffled at God’s grace for me.  To me, grace makes zero sense.  I hope its mystery brings me to worship.

Tis grace has brought me safe thus far, and grace will lead me home.

Blessings,

Josh

Leave a Reply

