Reflections and Resolutions

When it comes to the end of the year, I am a sucker for end of the year montages and reflections on the past year.  Whenever a ‘Look Back at 2010’ video segment comes on a TV show, or a ‘Year in Photos’ story pops up on a news website, I am hooked and become all nostalgic inside.  So, naturally, at the end of 2010, I start to reflect.

I will remember many things from 2010, the biggest of which is the move Kristi and I made from Huntington to Kenmore, and the start of my employment at the Youth Director at Goss.  I’ll remember the BP Oil Spill, the Chilean Coal Miners rescue, the ‘Burn the Quran Day’ that was called off, and the earthquake in Haiti.  I will also remember 2010 as the year LBJ left the Cavs, and the year the Akron Zips won the NCAA Men’s Soccer Championship.

As we reflect on the past year, it’s also important to look forward.  I have made a few new years resolutions to challenge myself in the next year.  Here are some of the goals/resolutions I have made for 2011:

-Train and run a half-marathon

-Drink no carbonated beverages all year

-Read 4 books cover to cover (which is actually a challenge for me…)

-Figure out a long-term plan for higher education or more schooling/learning

-Finish all the major house projects in our new home

-Actually follow my Bible reading plan

-Pray more

-Lead a youth to Christ

-Improve my abilities as a worship leader

-Improve as a youth director

I will also be challenging the youth to think of 2-3 spiritual goals concerning their walk with Christ this Sunday.  Please pray that our youth would set challenging goals, and that through the work of the Holy Spirit and Godly mentors that they might draw closer to Christ in 2011.

What will you remember from 2010?  Do you have any goals or resolutions for 2011?

Blessings,

Josh

Leave a Reply

