Nothing to fear

Fall is, by far, my favorite season.  My walks to work are enhanced by the leafs are changing from green to orange, red, and yellow.  There’s college football, apple cider, pumpkin pie, hooded sweatshirts, and much more.  But there is one holiday during the Fall that I just don’t get.  Halloween.

Halloween is such an odd time of year, isn’t it?  I mean, what are we celebrating?

I have never understood the desire to watch a horror movie or go to a haunted house.  I realize that some people absolutely love these things, but to me, it seems like a waste of fourteen bucks.  I just can’t help but wonder what people in the Sudan (who experience true horror) would think about the American culture’s infatuation with watching people die on the movie screen.  Although there are some aspects of Halloween that I think are good (kids get to be creative and are filled with excitement, neighbors interact more, etc.), I have grown more and more concerned with our culture’s desire for the gruesome.

I do believe that nothing is beyond redemption, including this holiday.  So I thought I would pose a question:

What could you do this year to show God’s love to someone during Halloween?

However you and your family choose to ‘celebrate’ or participate in Halloween, may you seek to honor God first by loving Him and loving your neighbor.

Isn’t it freeing to know that we have nothing to fear, for we have a God who has overcome all evil?

Blessings,

Josh

Leave a Reply

