From Seed to Harvest

Up until three years ago, I didn’t care much about food.  Don’t get me wrong, I have always loved a good meal.  What I mean is I didn’t care much about where my food came from, how it was grown, how the food was shipped, how it was prepared, or what was in the food.  I never even thought about these things.  What I cared about is how delicious it tasted and that my stomach was completely full after a meal.  In college I remember gorging myself every lunch and dinner at the all you can eat Dining Commons buffet, never giving a thought as to anything but my desire to eat and to be full.

Something happened about three years ago, and I’m not exactly sure what that something was.  I started to think about the industry and process of food.  I started to wonder how my bagel bites ended up in my freezer and on my plate.  It honestly wasn’t until then that I realized that what was in our food was grown on an actual farm somewhere.  It also dawned on me that a tomato plant, a wheat stalk, and an ear of corn all start with a simple seed in the ground. I realized that our society (and my generation in particular) has almost completely lost touch with the process of food growth.

As the season changes from summer to fall, I wish that I had an opportunity to plant and harvest a garden in my own yard this year.  In much the same way, at times, I wish that I had experienced more ‘harvest’ moments already as Youth Director.

In my first season of Youth Ministry, I am reminded that the place to start is working the soil and planting the seeds.  That is not to say that great time and effort hasn’t been put into the Goss Youth Ministry in the past, but my relationships with the students are just beginning.  I need to be content with the work of soiling and watering, waiting in anticipation for a harvest in seasons to come.

I am reminded to care about the process of growth, not just harvesting and feasting.

In world that highly values instant gratification, I pray that we will be faithful in the process of spiritual growth, from seed to harvest.

Blessings,

Josh

Leave a Reply

