Wonder Working Power

I’d say by far one of the farthest reaching themes so far in our study of I Corinthians is the idea of power.  Yes, wonder working power.  A couple highlights:

  • For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel–not with words of human wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power. (1:17)
  • For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.  (1:18)
  • For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength. (1:25)
  • My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power. (2:4-5)
  • For the kingdom of God is not a matter of talk but of power. (4:20)

I wonder out loud . . .

Do people see God’s power living in me?

Can we experience God’s power giving an hour a week in a room full of people we really don’t know well?

What great stories of God’s power live in people that I haven’t even heard about yet?

How do people in our church want to see God’s power displayed in our church and in their own lives?

These are exciting times.  I trust that God will empower me for whatever he calls me to do.  I know that I have experienced God’s power working in me as I have moved through trial and tribulation throughout my life.  And I also know that I want to see more of God’s powerful message of forgiveness and hope at work in people’s lives.

Wonder working power.

Have a great Monday!

Pastor Kevin

Leave a Reply

